Energetic… what?

28 Dec

Yesterday was my first day at attempting to eat zero animal products. I’ve been reading Oh She Glows a lot, and Angela is super inspiring to me! I decided to try one of her signature green monster shakes in the morning. Since I don’t really like bananas very much, and I was concerned with the shake not being sweet enough for my taste, I included a handful of frozen berries to aid in the flavor.

I used:

  • 1 cup original flavor Trader Joe’s brand almond milk
  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 1 whole frozen banana (without peel)
  • 2 tbsp frozen berries
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • 1 tbsp flax seeds

The berries made the shake a strange muddy color, but I promise it tasted better than it looks! It wasn’t the best thing I’ve ever had in my life, but after I was halfway through with it, I decided that it wasn’t so bad. The almond milk gave it a creamy texture, and it was slightly nutty from the almond butter. I felt super full afterwards and energized for the whole day. I even skipped my daily dose of morning coffee!

For dinner, I cooked red quinoa with caramelized shredded brussels sprouts, shallots and orange bell pepper with garlic. It was actually quite tasty! I’ll definitely have to shred brussels sprouts again for a quick and easy way to cook them.

The strange thing was that I had so much energy yesterday evening. I couldn’t get to bed until midnight, I was just super energized! I don’t know if it was because of my caffeine kick at 4pm (the withdrawal headache came, and I succumbed to a latte), or the wholesome grains that I ate.  Nevertheless, I feel fantastic waking up this morning.

Time to go to the gym! First time in several years, we’ll see how this goes…

Leave a Reply

